SSC Logo



Government of India

Role of Regional Office (Northern Region)

  • Staff Selection Commission (SSC) was established in 1977. The mandate of the Commission is to conduct fair and free examinations to recruit officials to Group 'C' & Group 'B' (Non-gazetted) posts in Ministries and Departments of Government of India. In addition, departmental examinations for promotions in the grade of LDC, UDC and stenographer are also conducted by the Commission. Further, the SSC also conducts examinations as per MoU signed between organisation like Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) for posts like Sub-Inspector, Constable(GD) etc. The Commission has its Headquarters in New Delhi. There are nine Regional Offices / Sub-Regional Offices to assist in the conduct of examinations. The Northern region has the largest jurisdiction, covering the states of Delhi/NCR, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand.